News from Dzanc

Dzanc Books is one of the best independent publishers out there, particularly when it comes to the short story. Under their own imprint, as well as Other Voices, Black Lawrence, and Monkeybicycle, they publish a number of story collections each year, many by first-time authors. Their new online journal The Collagist is yet another venue. To this stable they now add the already established Absinthe, a bi-annual print journal devoted to the best new European writing.

Dzanc has an activist/charitable side as well. Now in its third year, the Dzanc Prize awards writers who are not only producing outstanding fiction themselves, but are engaged in some manner of community service relating to education or literacy. They also sponsor the Dzanc Writer-in-Residence Program utilizing writers to increase literary in the public schools–for now limited to Dzanc’s home in Michigan but looking to expand.

Right now you have two easy ways to support these ventures. One is to vote Dzanc a recipient of Chase Bank’s Community Giving Program. Chase is allowing people to vote for their favorite charities on Facebook–follow the appropriate link here (note: you need to become a ‘fan’ of Chase’s Community Giving Program before you can vote). Second is to participate, as a writer or donor, in the upcoming Dzanc Write-a-Thon. Participating writers will be given a prompt on Dec. 17 and will have until the 20th to do something with it. Follow the link for info on how to sign up. Or sponsor me by dropping at note to scribbler3@mac.com.

Published in: on December 7, 2009 at 5:37 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://litscribbler.wordpress.com/2009/12/07/news-from-dzanc/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I would like to sponsor your noble effort once again this year. Though I don’t think I ever got to see what I got for my money last year.

  2. pm mia – you should have received an email from myself last year that contained a password protected pdf file of the writings of all of last year’s participants. We did find that some people that mailed in donations as opposed to using paypal didn’t get to see a copy as we never received email information for them – not sure if that is the case with you or not. Feel free to email me at dan @ dzancbooks dot org and I’ll make sure you see a copy.

  3. I will check into this…I am supporting a needed family at Christmas time this year but this is certainly a noble effort on your part. Happy Holidays.

    Best Regards,
    A.J.

  4. am Dan, I think I just paid cash, so you probably never had my e-mail address, but Scott kindly forwarded me the work. It was pretty good.

  5. […] The Write-a-Thon benefiting the charitable work of Dzanc Books (who I talk about in a previous post) begins tomorrow. Click HERE to sponsor me via PayPal. Published […]


Leave a Reply

