Have Your Cake…

This afternoon I picked up the Dave Eggers-edited Best American Nonrequired Reading 2008. It includes Patrick Tobin’s “Cake,” the title story of his New Short Fiction Series show taking place tomorrow night, 8pm at the Beverly Hills Public Library.

I just finished reading it, and wish I’d got to it sooner. It’s a helluva story, walking a tightrope between dark and comic that’s hard to pull off, and which I surely have never managed myself. It will be performed by the amazing actress Deborah Geffner (All That Jazz and many other things), along with several other of Patrick’s stories.

Plus, Patrick is bringing a homemade cake… so yeah, you’ll be able to have your cake…

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://litscribbler.wordpress.com/2009/05/07/have-your-cake/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hey like your blog a lot. Short stories are in my opinion vastly superior to novels. I’m a novice writer, and I’d love for you to check out my stuff, and tell me what you think. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

