Dzanc Write-a-Thon

At a time when the major publishing houses are taking fewer chances on new authors, Dzanc Books is going in the opposite direction. Under their own name and their three imprints (which now includes Other Voices), they release an impressive number of titles every year, many of them short story collections. A non-profit, they also engage in charitable work of a literary nature. Chief amongst these is a Writer in Residence program, which places fiction writers in public schools (now mostly in Michigan, but they’re hoping to expand).

On Saturday November 15, I’ll be participating in a Write-a-Thon to raise money for these efforts. In response to a prompt sent out that morning, I’ll write all day and see what I can come up with. If you’re interested in sponsoring me by word or a flat rate of say $10 or $20 (go with the flat rate–who knows maybe I’ll write a novel), shoot me an e-mail at scribbler3(at)mac(dot)com. Or go to the Dzanc website if you’d like to participate as a writer.

Published in: on November 12, 2008 at 3:16 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://litscribbler.wordpress.com/2008/11/12/dzanc-write-a-thon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Fun! I’d plege $20. I don’t think I can afford you by the word.


Leave a Reply

